Subsea Expo

Access. Connect. Grow.

Team Boost for Cortez Subsea

Team Boost for Cortez Subsea

View all news from:
View directory entry for:

30 April 2019

Subsea services company and technology enabler, Cortez Subsea, has more than doubled its team across Aberdeen and Kuala Lumpur (KL) after being awarded a contract to lay the first ever subsea pipeline using mechanical connectors offshore Malaysia.

The work will be jointly executed with Alam Maritim Resources Berhad under its consortium agreement with Cortez which will deliver the engineering, procurement and operational activities from its office in KL.

The pipeline system is for the Tembikai Non-Associated Gas (TNAG) Development by Vestigo Petroleum and uses the National Oilwell Varco (NOV)-Tuboscope Zap-Lokô  connectors which will be joined to the rigid pipeline using diverless connections.

Alasdair Cowie, Managing Director of Cortez Subsea, said: "We pioneer the latest developments to support our clients with ingenious technology and in-depth knowledge.

"The Zap-Lokô technology is proven with more than 7000km of subsea hydrocarbon pipelines installed worldwide and zero recorded failures in operation of over 70,000 joints.  Itís also approved by Lloyds Register and Bureau Veritas for hydrocarbons.

"We form genuine partnerships and cooperate to support and lead the development of services to conquer new and innovative subsea frontiers and deliver project which are safer, cheaper and reduce our carbon footprint.

"The future is bright for Cortez and its partners.  We have been working with NOV-Tuboscope to deliver the Zap-Lokô mechanical connector into the Malaysian offshore market for several years. We are delighted that our partnership with Alam Maritim enables us to deliver this project in Malaysia, and we look forward to working together further in the future.

"We are also delighted to welcome so many new faces to the company and will continue to bolster our team in Aberdeen and at our locations around the globe as we accomplish our ambitious growth plan for subsea pipeline technology.Ē

L-R Jennifer Green, Barbara Leska, Sarah Wilken, Adele Morrison