Subsea Expo

Access. Connect. Grow.

Industry Stars Recognised at Subsea UK Awards

Industry Stars Recognised at Subsea UK Awards

View all news from: Verlume, Enpro Subsea (a Hunting Energy Company), Proserv
View directory entry for: Verlume, Enpro Subsea (a Hunting Energy Company), Proserv

03 February 2017

The Hydro Group was named subsea company of the year at the Subsea UK’s annual awards last night while Enpro’s Ian Donald was recognised for his outstanding contribution to the industry.

The awards, which celebrate the achievements of companies and individuals in the UK subsea industry, were presented at a gala dinner in Aberdeen during Subsea Expo - Europe’s largest subsea-focused exhibition and conference.

The awards were presented in front of over 500 leaders from the subsea sector. Neil Gordon, chief executive of Subsea UK hosted the ceremony with former England rugby captain Matt Dawson as guest speaker.

The top award, Company of the Year, was presented to The Hydro Group. With over 100 employees, the company is at the forefront in the development and innovation of subsea product technologies. In a period of tough external dynamics, The Hydro Group has focused on market diversification, while delivering profitable and steady growth based on its people and technology.

Neil Gordon, chief executive of Subsea UK commented:"The past two years have been extremely challenging for the oil and gas sector, however we have continued to see an unwavering commitment from companies of all sizes to drive a real change across our industry.

"Once again, we received an incredible standard of entries for this year’s awards, demonstrating the greatest attributes of the UK subsea sector. Despite the ongoing challenges we face as an industry, it’s vital that we continue to celebrate and recognise the finest talent, leadership and contributions as we adapt to this new environment in the coming years.”

Ian Donald received the Outstanding Achievement award in recognition of his contribution to the subsea sector. Mr Donald is managing director and a founder of Enpro Subsea, a specialist subsea enhanced production company. He was previously founder and managing director of DES Operations, which developed the MARS (Multiple Application Re-injection System). The company was acquired by Cameron in 2007 and Mr Donald remained VP at Cameron Mars until 2011.

Commenting on Mr Donald’s award, Neil Gordon added: "Ian has been engaged in the sector for over 30 years and fulfilled a number of key roles within the operator, major service companies and SME environments with demonstrable success. He is a well-respected figure within the subsea industry and his recognition tonight is thoroughly deserved.”

In a hotly contested category, Proserv was awarded the Innovation & Technology honour for its Artemis 2G (A2G) technical solution which can provide substantial cost savings to operators. A2G is a subsea electronic module, designed to maximise flexibility, provide more powerful communications and instrument support, increase accessibility in remote locations, improve reliability and back compatibility with legacy products and deliver advanced subsea controls connectivity.

Aidan O'Sullivan, subsea engineer at Universal Pegasus International scooped the award for Young Emerging Talent. He was praised for his all-round work during a number of complex projects with the nomination adding "there is no doubt that he is destined to become a respected member of the subsea community”.

EC-OG was crowned the Small Company of the Year and The Underwater Centre was presented with the Innovation for Safety award. The Global Exports award went to JDR Cable Systems for its rapid expansion into key international markets with its innovative umbilical systems.